A bit of History

Crowle StoneThe Crowle Stone

The runic stone, which is nearly 7 feet high, 16 inches broad and 9 inches thick, is carved on all its four sides. It is of great antiquity for the Danish King Canute forbade the carving of runic stones after 1000 A.D. It is the oldest surviving carved relic in this area and with its inscription is quite unique. The stone could have been part of a cross or greater memorial erected by the Danes, for at various times antiquarians have given opinions on the carving. However, they do not seem to have been able to understand its real meaning, but all agree it must be well over a thousand years old.

The Stone now stands on a plinth at the west end of the church where it was erected in 1919. Previous to this time it was used as a lintel over the west door by the Norman Masons who built the church about 1150 A.D. It is doubtful that it would have remained intact to the present day but being part of the west wall for 800 years ensured its survival.

St. Oswald's Clock

ClockThe clock was made by Charles Brown of Selby in 1846. The form of frame employed is known as an “extended barrel”, a system which has a lower frame to allow a long winding barrel, and hence a long going duration. It has a second, narrower frame for the train wheels, thus keeping their arbour lengths to sensible proportions. Brown made the frame of cast iron, complete with its own legs, and has his name and the date cast into the front member. This, plus the somewhat unusual design, leads to the conclusion that Brown was both the designer and maker.